L’Oréal-UNESCO Honours Three Outstanding Malaysian Women Scientists

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship
In the annual recognition event, the of L’Oréal-UNESCO honoured three women scientists in Malaysia for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship recently for their effort and extensive research varying from global challenges to saving lives of millions.

This year’s L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship was the 12th years in a row and it is an award recognition created to recognise and promote the contribution of women scientists. L’Oréal, founded by scientist Eugene Schueller, has been celebrating women’s confidence for over a century. UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, has also advocated for gender equality in the cultivation of scientific knowledge since 1945. The L’Oréal and UNESCO partnership seems like the perfect fit. Besides honouring scientific excellence, L’Oréal Foundation and its partners aim to boost awareness and interest in science among Malaysians. This is in line with the nation’s vision of becoming a knowledge economy by 2020.

Dr Jasy Liew Suet Yan – recognised for building a system that detects signs of depression by analysing emotional patterns on social media

Dr Jasy’s work relates to our on-going #IWillBeOkay Fight Against Depression Awareness Campaign as she hope that she is able to building a system that detects signs of depression by analysing emotional patterns on social media. The 32-year old doctor is hopeful that early detection will encourage early diagnosis and treatment the soonest possible.

Dr Ho Weang Kee – recognised for development of a risk prediction model for breast cancer

Dr Ho Weang Kee
Dr. Ho Weang Kee, age 35 from the University of Nottingham Malaysia snagged the recognition for her valuable research and development of a risk prediction model for breast cancer, which uses DNA and lifestyle information to identify those at risk of the cancer for early detection.

Dr Teh Su Yean – recognised for her unification of science, engineering, technology and mathematics to protect coastal resources in Malaysia

Dr Teh is an associate professor of the School of Mathematical Science at Universiti Sains Malaysia is building a model that will conserve groundwater, which may become crucial when other water source are depleted due to global climate change.

Winners this year will receive a RM30,000 grant to help pursue their research. They also underwent training to present a summary of their research on stage during the award ceremony, similar to the world-renowned TED Talks.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship 2017 has received 208 sumissions and it was opened to all Malaysian women researchers or scientists under the age of 40 years, who are PhD holders or currently pursuing research studies in any scientific field. Panel of jury this year was led by one of Malaysia’s first astrophysicist, Professor Emeritus Datuk Dr. Mazlan Othman, Program Director, Academy of Science Malaysia. Each entry was deliberated based on a comprehensive set of criteria, including project significance in terms of its merit and value contribution, originality and purpose, contribution to science, methodology, academic achievements and overall project quality.

Overall, a total of over RM900,000 in research grants have been presented to 38 outstanding women scientists since the inception of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship in 2006. Who will be the hopeful recepients for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship award 2018? Stay tune.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here